top of page

May 24 - 28, 2021


We had a fun week enjoying folk dancing music with Evo Bluestein. It was different than the usual dancing, but your children should be able to get that from him in fifth grade. (I am thinking positively that things will all be back to normal.) There are only three weeks left in our school year, and they are going to fly by quickly. At the end of this newsletter, I will give you a schedule for our last week of school since we are still going to try to keep up some of our normal end-of-year activities.


Textbooks – At this point, your child’s science and language arts (Wonders) textbooks should have been returned to school. We will use the social studies book at the beginning of this week, and it can be returned as soon as we have completed our reading of the railroad. All textbooks should be returned to school by June 2nd.


Paperback Books – I have purchased new sets of most of our classroom paperback books for next year, so your child can keep their copy of Island of the Blue Dolphins, By the Great Horn Spoon, and Esperanza Rising. The only book that I could not purchase is Pasquala, so that one should be retuned if you have not already done so. (Most of you have returned it.)

I am currently cleaning out some of my own paperback books and am offering them to the students. Our hybrid A and B groups have already looked through them. If you are in the hybrid C group and would like to stop by and see if you would like any, please let me know and we will work out a time for that to happen.


Jury Duty – Unfortunately, I was called to serve jury duty in August and have postponed it as long as I am able to. I will be on-call for jury duty starting on Monday, May 24. If I need to show up on Monday, Mr. Pullen will be meeting with your children and going over their asynchronous work. I will be the one correcting and reviewing their work, so they may still see chats from me when I am able to get to my computer. If I need to show up later in the week, I will have a qualified person in my place so that learning will continue. I will keep the students updated on Teams and you updated on Remind as the week progresses.


Covid Rapid Testing: Voluntary Covid testing continues to take place in the cafeteria for any students who are interested in taking part.


Materials: Thank you for staying on top of materials that need to be available each day. 😊


Hybrid Group C: If you did not already pick up materials this past week, please do so on Monday. They are in a box labeled “Huene” right outside the office. We will be using some of the handouts that are in the packet starting on Tuesday.

Regarding the schedule for the last week of school: Hybrid group C students may attend the awards assembly on Wednesday OR Thursday. They may also attend our play day on Tuesday OR Friday. Please send me a chat letting me know which day you would like to attend for each event. There is no requirement for you to come in-person, I just want you to know that you are welcome if you would like to be there.




bottom of page